Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Message for the Management

Fortunately, I seldom have occasion for interaction with the GoDaddy management. It is fortunate because I always get the run around.

This is not my problem. It is GoDaddy's problem. I just received the following email which is obviously a fake. I thought you might want to know.

 Domain Notification: DR. JIMMY T. LABAUME This is your Final Notice of Domain Listing - FLYOVERPRESS.ORG
From: <>(Add as Preferred Sender) 
Date:Sat, Dec 17, 2016 11:06 pm
Attention: Important Notice , DOMAIN SERVICE NOTICE

Call: 1-716-980-9181

904 WEST AVENUE H - - ALPINE - TEXAS - 79830

Requested Reply Before
December 19,2016


Attn: Domain Owner DR. JIMMY T. LABAUME
As a courtesy to domain name holders, we are sending you this notification for your business Domain name search engine registration.

This letter is to inform you that it's time to send in your registration and save.

Failure to complete your Domain name search engine registration by the expiration date may result in cancellation of this offer making it difficult for your customers to locate you on the web.

Privatization allows the consumer a choice when registering. Search engine subscription includes domain name search engine submission.

You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated below unless you accept this offer. Do not discard, this notice is not an invoice it is a courtesy reminder to register your domain name search engine listing so your customers can locate you on the web.

This Notice for: WWW.FLYOVERPRESS.ORG will expire on December 19,2016 Act today!

[ ] 1 year 12/19/2016 - 12/19/2017 $75.00
[ ] 2 year 12/19/2016 - 12/19/2018 $119.00
[ ] 5 year 12/19/2016 - 12/19/2021 $199.00
[ ] 10 year -Most Recommended- 12/19/2016 - 12/19/2026 $295.00
[ ] Lifetime (NEW!) Limited time offer - Best value! Lifetime $499.00

Payment by Credit Card
Call our New York main office: (716)980-9181


By accepting this offer, you agree not to hold DS liable for any part. Note that THIS IS NOT A BILL. This is a solicitation. You are under no obligation to pay the amounts stated unless you accept this offer. The information in this letter contains confidential and/or legally privileged information from the notification processing department of the DS 3501 Jack Northrop Ave. Suite #F9238 Hawthorne, CA 90250 USA, This information is intended only for the use of the individual(s) named above. There is no pre-existing relationship between DS and the domain mentioned above. This notice is not in any part associated with a continuation of services for domain registration. Search engine submission is an optional service that you can use as a part of your website optimization and alone may not increase the traffic to your site. If you do not wish to receive further updates from DS reply with Remove to unsubscribe. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that disclosure, copying, distribution or the taking of any action in reliance on the contents of this letter is strictly prohibited.
Advocate VI Advocate VI
Advocate VI

Re: Message for the Management

This is a common scam technique, it has nothing to do with GoDaddy. Once you register a domain and the contact info is public, you'll get all sorts of solicitations from folks who would love to take your money. Doesn't matter where you register the domain, you'll still get the solicitations. You can avoid this by adding Privacy to the domain.


They are very clear that the letter is not related to domain registration, that it's optional, etc. Just ignore all of these things. GoDaddy can't make them stop sending them to you. 


My advice to clients is to get domain registration and hosting at GoDaddy, and if they get anything else about domain or hosting from another vendor, to ignore it (or even better, to send to me to review, and I always tell them to ignore it anyway).