cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New

Sooo frustrated with the complete lack of info and help after buying SSL cert!!!!

I am really frustrated and bordering on anger with the situation after purchasing an SSL cert. Everything I have is hosted by GoDaddy.  I'm paying for Deluxe Windows hosting and recently purchased an SSL.  It "sounded" so easy when I purchased it and tried to install it. Well there was no mention of everything else that's involved.  I'm no expert but I'm not stupid.  The first time I tried to install the cert using the Manage tools it rendered all of my sites inaccessible. All I did was follow the provided instructions. A call to Support and they did fixed it so at least the sites were accessible. Now it turns out I need to add files to each site to redirect. There was no mention up front about additional work having to be done. Like I said, I'm no expert but I'm not stupid. I have Deluxe Windows Hosting.  My last call to Support got me instructions for Linux hosting and to add an .htaccess file. Between the useless web video which was for Word Press (which I don't have) and the suggestion to PAY for EasySSL, I'm beginning to get really pissed off at GoDaddy. All I need is simple, concise directions on how to redirect the sites I have an SSL for to the versions.  Between the Deluxe Hosting, the almost 20 websites and now a useless SSL cert I'm paying good money.  Support informed me that "they don't do that" - meaning make the sites secure unless I pay for EasySSL (on top of the $167) so WHERE can I get SIMPLE, CLEAR instructions on redirecting to https?  Am I asking too much or should I just look for another hosting service?

5 REPLIES 5
Super User III
Super User III

Re: Sooo frustrated with the complete lack of info and help after buying SSL cert!!!!

Okay, so here's the harsh reality of it all for you...