cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution
New

Dumbed-down Wordpress.com??

I'm new to Wordpress through GoDaddy and wasn't told when I called to ask questions about signup that this was a limited Wordpress.ORG install (but without the ability to add plugins), not Wordpress.COM with which I am a lot more familiar.

Where are the themes??  Where is the flexibility??  This seems to be a very limited sandbox compared to what I'm used to on Wordpress.

For example:  I can't find anywhere to look for themes I can purchase.  I'm setting up a site for a social organization, not simply a personal blogging site, so I need a lot more ability to customize.

Am I simply going to have to cancel GoDaddy hosting and sign up through Wordpress.com?

3 REPLIES 3
Super User III Super User III
Super User III
Solution

Re: Dumbed-down Wordpress.com??

I am not sure how but your impression seems to be flipped around.  WordPress.com is actually a limited version of WordPress.org.  While WordPress.com comes preconfigured with mainstream options, WordPress.org has the flexibility to configure it how you see fit with plugins and themes.

You can click Add New under the Themes or Plugins tab to browse or search the available selection on WordPress.org, or use the option to Upload a Theme or Plugin you've downloaded from another source.  Since you are not limited to a curated you will want to make sure any addon is up-to-date and currently being supported, as well as check the reviews. You can use your favorite search for 3rd party sites, but as it is the internet make sure any site is trustworthy before downloading anything.

It is hard to briefly yet concisely explain WordPress.org via text but there are many YouTube videos that go over the basics.  But if you do have any specific questions don't hesitate to ask.

New